Society of Women Engineers

Colorado School of Mines


The Colorado School of Mines student section of SWE is the largest professional organization on campus and the largest collegiate SWE section in the nation.

What is SWE?

The Society of Women Engineers (SWE) was founded in 1950 and is a non-profit educational service organization of undergraduate and graduate engineers, as well as professional women and men within the engineering profession. The national membership of SWE is more than 14,000 with 254 student sections.

The CSM collegiate chapter of SWE is part of Region i, and is affiliated with the Rocky Mountain Professional Section of SWE. More information can be found at the National SWE website. To stay up to date with current events in the region, check out the Region i Blog.

SWE Highlights

  • Weekly meetings with speakers from industry (free lunch provided at each meeting!)
  • Outreach opportunities, especially for K-12 girls
  • Having fun!
  • Networking opportunities with company representatives (learn about internships and jobs)
  • Opportunities to attend Regional and National SWE conferences
  • Scholarships
  • Leadership
  • Meeting other women (and men) at Mines


Wednesdays at noon, locations vary. See the list of upcoming meetings for more information.

Not a Member?

If you are not currently a member of SWE, we invite you to take the time to find out what we are about! Please see the "How to Join" link for more information.

Girls Lead the Way

               High School Girls Leadership Conference

          "Unlocking the Mysteries, Making Discoveries"


register here ($30 preregister by Jan 30th)


Colorado School of Mines, 1600 Maple St., Golden, CO


Saturday, Feb 11 2017   |   8:30am - 3:30pm


Girls 9th-12th grade


See flyer here


Florence Caldwell Scholarship Past Winners

Congratulations to the 2016-17 Florence Caldwell Scholarship recipients!

  • Chloe Archuleta
  • Briana Farris
  • Amy Goldstein
  • Megan Wolf

Thanks to generous donations from our sponsors, Newmont Mining and Schlumberger, we were able to offer four scholarships this year. Congratulations recipients!


2016 Newsletter

Please read our 2016 SWE Newsletter.